Revealed: The Conservative and Labour MPs who will be sitting on some Brexit-scrutinising select committees

Revealed: The Conservative and Labour MPs who will be sitting on some Brexit-scrutinising select committees

Earlier in the week, I revealed the Conservative MPs seeking to be elected to the select committees that will be scrutinising Brexit in this Parliament. The ballot of Tory backbenchers has now taken place and the results are in – and I have also obtained the lists of Labour MPs chosen to sit on the same committees as well.

There is not yet, however, a full list of those Tories who will be serving on the Exiting the European Union select committee: 1922 Committee chairman Graham Brady announced that the Government Chief Whip had informed him that “there remains some uncertainty over the number of places the Conservative Party will be allocated” on the committee and that whilst the votes have been counted, he will not be in a position to announce the result until the allocation is finalised.

Below are the MPs who will in due course be formally nominated to sit on the committees, to be joined by MPs from the minor parties. Arguably the biggest news is that Crispin Blunt – who chaired the Foreign Affairs Select Committee in the last Parliament – failed even to be re-elected to the committee, after his unsuccessful bid to remain Chair before the summer recess.



  • Julia Dockerill
  • Nigel Evans
  • Marcus Fysh
  • Ranil Jayawardena

(Ian Liddell-Grainger, Mark Menzies, Ross Thomson and Damien Moore were unsuccessful in their attempt to be elected)

  • Chris Leslie (Lab)
  • Faisal Rashid (Lab)
  • Keith Vaz (Lab)
  • Catherine West (Lab)
  • Matt Western (Lab)



  • Tom Tugendhat (Chair)
  • Nusrat Ghani
  • Andrew Rosindell
  • Royston Smith
  • Nadhim Zahawi

(Crispin Blunt, John Baron, Adam Holloway, Daniel Kawczynski, Ian Liddell-Grainger, Douglas Ross, Bob Seeley and Henry Smith were unsuccessful in their attempts to be elected)

  • Ian Austin (Lab)
  • Chris Bryant (Lab)
  • Ann Clwyd (Lab)
  • Mike Gapes (Lab)
  • Ian Murray (Lab)



  • Nicky Morgan (Chair)
  • Charlie Elphicke
  • Stephen Hammond
  • Alister Jack
  • Kit Malthouse

(Neil O’Brien was unsuccessful in his attempt to be elected)

  • Rushanara Ali (Lab)
  • John Mann (Lab)
  • Alison McGovern (Lab)
  • Catherine McKinnell (Lab)
  • Wes Streeting (Lab)



  • Neil Parish (Chair)
  • Dr Caroline Johnson
  • Sheryll Murray
  • Julian Sturdy

(Colin Clark, Chris Davies, Glyn Davies, David Duguid and John Stevenson were unsuccessful in their attempts to be elected)

  • Paul Flynn (Lab)
  • John Grogan (Lab)
  • Sandy Martin (Lab)
  • Angela Smith (Lab)
  • One further Labour MP tbc


Conservatives – to be announced from the following in due course 

  • Peter Bone
  • Chris Chope
  • Simon Clarke
  • Stephen Crabb
  • Jonathan Djanogly
  • Vicky Ford
  • Richard Graham
  • Gordon Henderson
  • Andrea Jenkyns
  • Jeremy Lefroy
  • Craig Mackinlay
  • Jacob Rees-Mogg
  • Anna Soubry
  • John Whittingdale

Labour MPs already selected to serve on the committee:

  • Hilary Benn (Lab, Chair)
  • Seema Malhotra (Lab)
  • Pat McFadden (Lab)
  • Emma Reynolds (Lab)
  • Stephen Timms (Lab)