The 70 MPs who opposed repeal of the European Communities Act 1972

The 70 MPs who opposed repeal of the European Communities Act 1972

During the first day of Committee Stage of the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill, MPs voted by an overwhelming majority in favour of passing Clause 1 of the Bill, which states, quite simply:

“The European Communities Act 1972 is repealed on exit day.”

Repealing the Act of Parliament that took us into the then EEC in the first place is pretty fundamental to the delivery of Brexit, so BrexitCentral readers will, I imagine, be interested to know how MPs voted in this division.

318 MPs voted for the Clause (320 if you include the two tellers), including 305 Conservatives, 3 Labour MPs (Frank Field, Kate Hoey and Graham Stringer), all 10 DUP MPs and 2 currently Independent MPs.

Meanwhile, 68 MPs voted against the Clause (70 including two tellers), including 19 Labour MPs, 10 Lib Dem MPs and all 35 SNP MPs, along with MPs from Plaid Cymru, the Green Party and an Independent.

The vast majority of Labour MPs followed their party whip to abstain.

Below is the full list of the MPs who voted against the Clause, making them arguably the most anti-Brexit MPs in the Commons.




  1. Caroline Lucas


  1. Sylvia Hermon


  1. Rushanara Ali
  2. Ben Bradshaw
  3. Ruth Cadbury
  4. Ann Clwyd
  5. Ann Coffey
  6. Neil Coyle
  7. Mary Creagh
  8. Geraint Davies
  9. Louise Ellman
  10. Mike Gapes
  11. Helen Hayes
  12. Rupa Huq
  13. Darren Jones
  14. David Lammy
  15. Christopher Leslie
  16. Pat McFadden
  17. Catherine McKinnell
  18. Albert Owen
  19. Tulip Siddiq

Liberal Democrat

  1. Tom Brake (Teller)
  2. Vince Cable
  3. Alistair Carmichael
  4. Ed Davey
  5. Tim Farron
  6. Wera Hobhouse
  7. Christine Jardine
  8. Layla Moran
  9. Jamie Stone
  10. Jo Swinson

Plaid Cymru

  1. Jonathan Edwards
  2. Ben Lake
  3. Liz Saville Roberts
  4. Hywel Williams


  1. Hannah Bardell
  2. Mhairi Black
  3. Ian Blackford
  4. Kirsty Blackman
  5. Deidre Brock
  6. Alan Brown
  7. Lisa Cameron
  8. Doug Chapman
  9. Joanna Cherry
  10. Ronnie Cowan
  11. Angela Crawley
  12. Martyn Day
  13. Martin Docherty-Hughes
  14. Marion Fellows
  15. Stephen Gethins
  16. Patricia Gibson
  17. Patrick Grady (Teller)
  18. Peter Grant
  19. Neil Gray
  20. Drew Hendry
  21. Stewart Hosie
  22. Chris Law
  23. David Linden
  24. Angus MacNeil
  25. Stewart McDonald
  26. Stuart McDonald
  27. John McNally
  28. Carol Monaghan
  29. Gavin Newlands
  30. Brendan O’Hara
  31. Tommy Sheppard
  32. Chris Stephens
  33. Alison Thewliss
  34. Philippa Whitford
  35. Pete Wishart